Blues Underground Network

Back To Homepage

Woody & The Bluepackers "Woody & The Bluepackers" (EP)
Usually when I start a review I like to tell you a fair bit about the Artist I am reviewing, however in the case of Woody & The Bluepackers, I really was not able to get a hold of a lot of info, so this paragraph I got when they emailed me, will have to do.
"Woody & The Bluepackers is a blues pub-rock band from Rotterdam, The Netherlands. The members of the band come from different musical backgrounds: 60's beat, 70's punk, 80's new wave, hardrock, blues, reggae and even disco have scarred our past (and our faces)! In 2010 we made a promotion cd, called "PORCH", which was well received in The Netherlands ."
"Woody & The Bluepackers" is an EP consisting of 6 Tracks, five of which are Covers, "If My Baby Quit Me" (Mike Morgan), "Give Me Back My Wig" (Hound Dog Taylor), "A Fool For Your Stockings" (Gibbons/Hill/Beard), "Twenty Yards Behind" (Wilko Johnson), and "Back In The Night" (Wilko Johnson).
Woody & The Bluepackers is made up of the following members, Kinky Pete (Guitar Vocals), Wooz (Vocals/Harp/Sax), Tommy (Bass/Vocals), and Maks A. (Drums/Vocals).
"Woody & The Bluepackers" starts of this EP with a tune called Porch. It is just over a minute in length and consist mainly of the sounds of a thunderstorm, with the rain, and the crickets chirping. Interlaced through this track is bit and pieces of a mighty fine slide Guitar. That track does a nice segue into the next track "If My Baby Quit Me", which is one of three songs on this EP that is somewhat connected to the group Dr. Feelgood, "a British pub rock band formed in 1971. The band's name derives from a slang term for heroin or for a doctor who is willing to over prescribe drugs." It is a band that a few of the members have listed as one of their favorites. This Mike Morgan cover is done quit well with great Harp work from Wooz. "If My Baby Quit Me" is the first chance to hear Vocals on this EP and although there is a bit of an accent, they still come across quite nicely. Finishing off the first half of this EP is the fun and fast paced Hound Dog Taylor song "Give Me Back My Wig". This one really shows off the groups musical talents with everyone getting in on the act and clicking on all eight cylinders.
The second half of "Woody & The Bluepackers" start off with "A Fool For Your Stockings" a well done ZZ Top Cover. Slow songs such as these separate the boys from the true musicians, as the slower the song, the less room for error. "Woody & The Bluepackers" does this song right and to perfection. Woody & The Bluepackers finishes off this EP with two Wilko Johnson Covers, "Twenty Yards Behind" and "Back In The Night". "Wilko Johnson (born John Wilkinson, 12 July 1947, Canvey Island, Essex) is an English guitarist and songwriter, particularly associated with the UK rhythm and blues band Dr. Feelgood in the 1970s." "Twenty Yards Behind" comes across as a nicely paced get up on the dance floor number, and "Back In The Night", also comes across with that got to get up and dance feeling, accentuated very nicely with Kinky Pete's Slide Guitar throughout.
I found Woody & The Bluepackers self titled EP to be very entertaining and it was certainly something that wetted my appetite for more from this more then capable foursome. The EP had a really nice choice of songs which showed of the bands talents, in spades. I for one, am looking forward to a full length Album from Woody & The Bluepackers. If this release is any indication as to what they can do, it should be a great fun Album to listen to.
Review by John Vermilyea (Blues Underground Network)
Additional Info
1. Porch
2. If My Baby Quit Me
3. Give Me Back My Wig
4. A Fool For Your Stockings
5. Twenty Yards Behind
6. Back In The Night
Listen To Samples Here...