Blues Underground Network

Artists CD's Index
Back To Blues Underground Network

Trevor Caswell
"Folksinger Blues"

Reviews & Info

Performing the Blues, especially the good old Acoustic Blues, is not an easy feat. It requires, in my opinion, more of an expertise on the instruments used, usually guitar and harmonica, and for all the pieces to fall into place it requires crisp vocals and engaging lyrics. All those requirements and more are met with Trevor's Caswell's newest CD "Folksinger Blues".

With "Folksinger Blues", Trevor brings his own unique style to the Blues, especially with infusing a more folksy feel to his music. It kind of reminds me of how a young Bob Dylan would sound like singing the Blues, but with much better guitar playing and a voice that is not only unique, but is also second to none.

Besides Trevor's obvious talents as a musician and singer, he also displays his amazing ability to write good songs as well. In fact, he wrote 11 of the 12 songs on "Folksinger Blues" and the one he didn't write, "How Much Did You Get For Your Soul", he simply makes up for by performing it to perfection.

"Folksinger Blues" is poignant and honest, an album which reflects Trevor Caswell's unique ability to decode the world around him and piece it back together for the pure enjoyment of his audience.

Trevor Caswell's newest offering, is surely to become an album that transcends it purpose and reaches out to a much larger audience of those that simply love good music.

John Vermilyea (Blues Underground Network)

Track List

1. Nicola Valley Blues
2. Listen Good
3. Most Things Don't Work Out
4. Devil In Disguise
5. She's A Sweet Sweet Thing
6. World Gone Wrong
7. Yukon Lizzie
8. How Much Did You Get for Your Soul
9. Blues For Rae
10. Them Blues
11. Trouble On My Mind
12. Call My Name

About Trevor Caswell

A guitar and a harmonica, a scorching summer and a cool basement, Neil Young's "Harvest Moon" in the CD player, a Bob Dylan songbook on a music stand, and endless Beatles songs in the DNA (having heard them since the womb)- it's the setting and the stew for Trevor Caswell and his music. A glorious summer where a friend left that harmonica behind, so Trevor wandered down to the local music shop and picked up a rack to hold it the way his heroes did. Nothing to do then, but head out onto the streets and start busking- banging and hollering! Dylan, Guthrie, Leadbelly- those classic folk styles served him well, and continue to do so... Trevor's original music is highlighted by disarming, socially conscious lyrics alongside great song craft and a touch of sly humour. His CD releases include 2001's "Serenade", 2003's "Another Something", and 2006's "Mr. Poirier" and "Red Machine". Each release has built upon that singer/songwriter model with Mr. Poirier branching out into 1960s pop territory and being described as having "a delightfully progressive, gentle feel". 2008 will see the release of an acoustic blues CD featuring a group of songs that Trevor has been performing as encores for the last few years alongside his first recorded cover- a howling, primitive version of The Pretenders "How Much Did You Get For Your Soul". "An absolute pleasure to hear live" Trevor's performances can range from intimate solo shows to appearances with a full band including violin and cello. With the addition of a National steel guitar and that ever present harmonica, seeing Trevor live is a definite treat. Currently basing himself out of Kamloops, B.C. he tours between that province and Ontario, and his songs can be heard on radio across Canada. His festival appearances have included the Komasket Music Festival, Artswells Festival, and the Long Day's Night Music Festival.

Trevor Caswell - Nicola Valley Blues

Live from the November 2008 release show for the CD Folksinger Blues