Blues Underground Network

Back To Recommended Artists CD's Index
Back To Blues Underground Network

Marshall Lawrence
"The Morning After"

Reviews & Info

Marshall's acoustic slide playing is steeped in roots music and has a true and genuine blues feel. His pounding rhythms and fierce attack on the guitar transform each song into raw emotion.


1 Freight Train
2 Blue Sky is Fallin
3 Catfish Blues
4 Shake It
5 Keep On Walkin’
6 Mockingbird Blues
7 Long Time Gone
8 Bye Bye Blues
9 Dessert Table Blues
10 Moon Goin’ Down
11 Gotta Change Our Ways
12 Light Rain Blues
13 Ida Mae


When you’re given a special gift from a friend, there’s no better “thank you” than doing something truly meaningful with it. This CD is a living testament to the evolution of Marshall’s blues, largely influenced by the friendship of harmonica great, John Miner Wilds, and adorned by the tremendous talents of Russell Jackson and Sherman “The Tank” Doucette. John’s soulful and understated harp playing had a powerful effect on Marshall and introduced him to a different side of the blues, where space and melody are paramount. The result is The Morning After, a recording that’s steeped in Marshall’s reverence for acoustic blues masters, yet abandons just enough form to embrace a fresh approach to an old tradition. During the first recording session, with the sounds of “Light Rain Blues” coming through the studio walls, John passed away. Marshall and John’s journey to the heart of the blues had barely begun, but John lived and died doing what he loved and there’s a gift in that for us all.

Marshall Lawrence "Doctor of the Blues" Mockingbird Blues

I recently appeared on Help TV in Edmonton, AB and played one of the songs from my 
new CD "The Morning After" called Mockingbird Blues. It is an original composition.