Blues Underground Network

Chris Murphy "Hotwired" (Canada)

 Chris Murphy has been a celebrated Canadian Bluesman, Songwriter, and Multi-Instrumentalists for many years now. Based in London, Ontario, Chris has been the frontman in his own band since 1985.
Accolades have certainly come his way over the years with no less than 11 Maple Blues Award Nominations gathered already, and that was in a span of 12 years, in the category of Horn Player of The Year. Chris tours extensively and has been called "by the London Free Press as "one of the busiest musicians in South-Western Ontario." In addition to touring with his band, you can also catch him performing with "two time Juno Award Winning Guitarist, Jack de Keyzer, Alberta Adams (Detroit’s Queen of the Blues), The Maple Blues Revue (Canada’s 11 piece All Star Blues Ensemble)." "Hotwired" marks Chris Murphy's 3rd Solo release and his 7th release, as a bandleader.
"Hotwired" consists of 12 great Tracks, split evenly between originals and covers. Of the 6 originals, all were written by Chris Murphy. Fellow Canadian Blues and Roots artist Mike Clark is featured on Track 3 with his cover "Forget About You", a blazing bar room guitar fused tune. Other interesting covers included Track 5, "Funkalishus" a Dr. John instrumental, and "Just My Imagination", a standard by the Legendary Soul group, The Temptations. In addition to "Funkalishus", "Hotwired" contained 2 other great instrumentals, which included Track 2, the title Track and Track 8 "Burnin' Rubber", both of which were Chris Murphy originals, and both of which not only show off Chris's exceptional Sax playing, but also the band as a whole, especially Guitarist Teddy Leonard and Lance Anderson on Organ and Piano.
In addition to Teddy Leonard, whom is Canada's Iconic Band Fathead's Guitarist and Producer, and Lance Anderson, whom also Produced "Hotwired", this album also features Garth Vogan (Bass), Tim Tyler (Drums/Background Vocals), Howard Moore (Trumpet), Amoy & Ceceal Levi (Background Vocals), and Ryan Spong (Background Vocals on Track 9 "Hold It Right There"). Special Guest Jack de Keyzer makes an appearance on Tracks 1 & 9 "Something Else"/Hold It Right There", in the capacity of Guitar Solo's, and simply sizzles.
"Hotwired" has no problem showing us that Chris Murphy is not only an accomplished Singer, Writer, and Saxman, but it also shows us his skill as a seasoned Frontman, whom seems to effortlessly guide his troupe of amazing artists through the many textured layers of this amazingly good album.
With the release of "Hotwired", Chris Murphy not only follows in the styles of Canadian greats, Downchild, Powder Blues Band, and Fathead, but he also takes his style to a creative and unique level.
"Hotwired" is a rare treat...
Review by John Vermilyea (Blues Underground Network)
Listen To Samples Here...
Additional Artist Info...